Through the Bookshelves or How I spend My Money (3)

Third edition of Through the Bookshelves or How I spend My Money is now here. Is it just me or has it been less time between this and the last one than before? My money waves at me as it goes, flying out of my wallet. The bastard. So, this weekend I bought:

Image

1) Micro by Michael Crichton and Richard Preston
Since I had such a good foray into Crichton’s books I thought I should try another one. Unfortunately, he died before finishing this book, so Richard Preston did it for him. It sounds Jurassic Park-ish, because it has all this biological experiment thing going for it. We shall see how it goes. Not super excited for it though.

2) Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
I am SUPER EXCITED for this! I can’t believe I didn’t have this book yet, it’s been in my TBR list for years really. That strong wish to read it returned to me full force since the new movie came out and I fell in love with it. With the story, the characters, the feels… everything! Now all I need is the time to read this book.

3) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
I could say the same things I said about Les Mis (except the movie part) for this one: I have been meaning to read it for ages! And now I am, since I picked it up the second I got home. Expect a review of this soon, because I have a feeling I won’t be putting it down.

Any new buys or loans this week?

9 thoughts on “Through the Bookshelves or How I spend My Money (3)

  1. I just finished Crichton’s Jurassic Park and am a bit cautious about his writing now. I would love to read Timeline and Eaters of the Dead (both on my TBR) before writing him completely off though. His stories seem fantastic, but execution is a bit stumbling at times. I’m curious to see your opinion on Micro.

    Hugo scares me senseless! I hope to get enough courage to start it one of these days. Good luck with that one!

    • I’m a lot like that when it comes to Crichton, I really wanted to love Jurassic Park (which didn’t happen) so I’m willing to give him more chances. Though I’ve heard that Jurassic Park is considered one of his best so I’m not sure what to expect.

      Oh god, he scars me too! The sheer length of this book is overwhelming enough without the added pressure that I really want to like it. I’m working up the courage too and now I don’t have to excuse of not having it on hand. Thanks (and wish you some luck with it too, whenever you read it)!

    • I’m in love with this book so far, but it’s already made me cry twice. I expect there will be more tears before this is over! Thanks for commenting :)

    • From what I can see people either love it or hate it, so I’m glad to hear you liked it. And it takes time to read it too, that’s why I’m not starting it now, because I hope to savor it. Thanks for commenting! :)

Leave a Reply

